At Training Qualifications UK, we’re all about innovation and developing high-quality qualifications that will provide learners with the knowledge and skills they need to power through their careers.

That’s why we’re excited to announce the new TQUK Level 5 Award for an Unmanned Aircraft Systems Operations Manager (RQF) has now been regulated!

After the successful launch of the TQUK Level 4 Award in Unmanned Aircraft Systems (RQF) we have continued to work with ASG and Heliguy to develop and regulate the level 5.

TQUK Level 5 Award for an Unmanned Aircraft Systems Operations Manager (RQF)

The TQUK Level 5 Award for an Unmanned Aircraft Systems Operations Manager (RQF) was developed in association with Recognised Assessment Entities (RAEs) who are approved by the Civil Aviation Authority (CAA); ASG and Heliguy. These centres have years of experience in the sector and have been essential in getting the development of the qualification completed.

With an operational start date of 02/05/2022, the qualification is ready to assist learners in building on their knowledge and skills to give them confidence when it comes to operating drones.

When taking the qualification, learners will take on mandatory units such as Maintenance, Audit Process, and Flight Safety for Unmanned Aircraft for Operations Manager and Responsibilities of an Unmanned Aircraft Systems Operations Manager. These units will give learners allow learners to expand on their skills and develop further knowledge in managing the operations of unmanned aircraft.


Equipping learners with the knowledge and skills to oversee the flight of an unmanned aircraft system (UAS), this qualification covers the responsibilities of a UAS Operations Manager along with compliance and flight safety management.

This qualification aims to support all sizes of businesses and government bodies to get the most out of unmanned aircraft systems in a safe and responsible way. Alongside this, it allows learners to study the knowledge and skills required for a safe extended visual line of sight flight.

The qualification underpins competencies required in the following job roles:

  • Unmanned Aircraft System Pilots.
  • Unmanned Aircraft System Operations Manager.
  • Emergency Services.

About the TQUK Level 4 Award in Unmanned Aircraft Systems (RQF)

Did you know that 300,000 jobs have been generated due to the drone industry?

Our remastered suite of drone qualifications gives individuals the expertise to safely fly drones, no matter the industry. From commercial use to military and construction, the TQUK Level 4 Award in Unmanned Aircraft Systems (RQF) provides extra competence and confidence to individuals who already have their drone licenses.

See more about our Level 4 drone qualification here.


If learners are part of military or ex-military personnel, ELCAS funding is available for those who want to get their license or hold the license and would like to upskill.

Want to know more about funding? Speak with our Business Development team

A little bit about the CAA

The Civil Aviation Authority (CAA) is the UK’s aviation regulator. It’s responsible for ensuring that aviation meet the highest safety standards, specifically, drones. Managing all registration and authorisation activity for operators looking to use drones and providing advice to the general public and industry on how to fly drones safely and reduce any risk to aviation.

The CAA also support the potential for innovative use of drone technology, but its focus is on ensuring that any risks the future users pose to aviation are managed effectively and proportionately.

Register your interest for our suite of drone qualifications today! Click here.